Daily Whitman

Black_Mountain_Sunset-27527

 

When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom’d

 8
  O western orb sailing the heaven,
  Now I know what you must have meant as a month since I walk'd,
  As I walk'd in silence the transparent shadowy night,
  As I saw you had something to tell as you bent to me night after night,
  As you droop'd from the sky low down as if to my side, (while the
      other stars all look'd on,)
  As we wander'd together the solemn night, (for something I know not
      what kept me from sleep,)
  As the night advanced, and I saw on the rim of the west how full you
      were of woe,
  As I stood on the rising ground in the breeze in the cool transparent night,
  As I watch'd where you pass'd and was lost in the netherward black
      of the night,
  As my soul in its trouble dissatisfied sank, as where you sad orb,
  Concluded, dropt in the night, and was gone.

Posted on 23/02/2015, in literature, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

