Daily Whitman

past-present-future

With Antecedents

3
  In the name of these States and in your and my name, the Past,
  And in the name of these States and in your and my name, the Present time.

  I know that the past was great and the future will be great,
  And I know that both curiously conjoint in the present time,
  (For the sake of him I typify, for the common average man's sake,
      your sake if you are he,)
  And that where I am or you are this present day, there is the centre
      of all days, all races,
  And there is the meaning to us of all that has ever come of races
      and days, or ever will come.

Posted on 11/11/2014, in literature, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

